quarta-feira, maio 18, 2011

Philip Roth takes out Booker International

«American writer Philip Roth has been honoured with the prestigious Booker International Prize for his overall achievement in fiction.
Roth beat 12 other finalists for the $90,000 prize, which was awarded at the Sydney Opera House.
The prize, announced as part of the Sydney Writers' Festival, is awarded every two years for a writer's overall achievement in fiction.
Among Roth's best known works are Portnoy's Complaint, American Pastoral and The Human Stain.
The judges said that for more than 50 years, his books have stimulated, provoked and amused an enormous and still expanding audience.
Dr Rick Gekoski, chair of the judging panel, praised Roth's 50-year career.
"His imagination has not only recast our idea of Jewish identity; it has also reanimated fiction, and not just American fiction, generally," he said.
"His career is remarkable in that he starts at such a high level and keeps getting better.
"In his 50s and 60s, when most novelists are in decline, he wrote a string of novels of the highest, enduring quality."
Dr Gekoski says Roth's most recent book Nemesis, published in 2010, is "alive with feeling".
"His is an astonishing achievement," he said.
In a statement, Roth said he was delighted to receive the prize and hopes it will bring his work to the attention of more readers around the world.
"I would like to thank the judges of the Man Booker Prize for awarding me this esteemed prize," he said.
"One of the particular pleasures I've had as a writer is to have my work read internationally despite all the heartaches of translation that that entails.
"I hope the prize will bring me to the attention of readers around the world who are not familiar with my work. This is a great honour and I'm delighted to receive it."
Among the 13 finalists for the award was Australian writer David Malouf.
The judging panel for the prize included Dr Gekoski, writer and critic Carmen Callil and award-winning novelist Justin Cartwright.
Earlier this year there was controversy surrounding the announcement of the finalists when one of them, British author John le Carre, immediately asked to be withdrawn from consideration for the prize.
Dr Gekoski said at the time that le Carre's name would remain on the list of finalists.
Previous winners of the award include Canadian writer Alice Munro (2009), Nigeria's Chinua Achebe (2007) and Albanian Ismail Kadare, who scooped the inaugural prize in 2005.»

in ABC

Nota: Mais um prémio para Roth. Mais um prémio merecido. Esperamos agora pelo Nobel...

Adenda: Com algum atraso, mas cá está a notícia em versão portuguesa (link).

Sem comentários: